I recently celebrated my birthday and it brought back the memories of the day when I received this special call.
I was sitting in the balcony enjoying the tranquility of a cold winter morning. My hair was still wet. I was sipping a steaming hot cup of coffee when my phone began ringing. It was flashing an anonymous number. I took the call and the voice on the other side showered me with beautiful birthday wishes. I quirked my head sideways and ran my fingers through my wet entangled hair. Still wondering about the anonymous caller, I politely inquired "Many thanks for the wishes but I am unable to recall you. Please help." He glibly replied that he sent a message on my matrimonial account and I accepted his proposal. I realized that Lily must have responded to his message. Quickly recovering, I blamed on my memory and asked for his name etc.
Spent the day with friends and family, watching movie, eating, shopping, dancing etc. I received his call again at 10ish and this time I talked at length. Turned out that he is working in the IT company right opposite to mine and his father is in the same office as my father's. What a coincidence!!! If he is ‘The One’ then world has really shrunk down a small village.
We spoke with each other for a couple of more days, don’t ask me what cuz I myself don’t remember. Let me quickly take you forward to the third day when he called at around 10 to wish 'Good Night'. I have a strong urge to give an exact transcript of the conversation so here we go:
He: Hey, what’s up?
Me: Nothing much, just had dinner. You say.
He: Just returned from a friend's place, thought of wishing you good night.
Me: Well, thanks and same to you.
He: Is that all? You have nothing else to say.
Me: Oh yeah, have sweet dreams.
He: And...
Me: Sleep well.
He: And...
Me: What and???
He: You think about it. What else you should say??
Me: (Contorting my face in the most impossible manner) I think I have pretty much said what I wanted to. Why don’t you tell me what you expecting to hear? I might say that as well (and let’s get over with it.)
He: No I want you to come up with it.
Me: (Now, you pissing me off) Really sorry, I am very bad at that. Please help.
He: You don’t wanna say that you love me??
Me: (WTF!$%^#@) Well, I haven’t seen you. I don’t know much about you other than what you already told me. I haven’t met with your family. Moreover, my family doesn’t even know about your existence. To me 'love you' means a commitment and it takes time to commit to someone, just a couple of lovy duvy calls are not enough. Clearly, I don’t love you.
He: I don’t wanna marry a girl who doesn’t love me.
Me: Fair enough. Good luck.
World is indeed full of idiosyncrasies. I had a good laugh at myself and immediately shared this incident with Lily. In the process, I abused her for this weird suggestion of having such a matrimonial account.
Up Next: Encounter with The B-School Alum--Keep Watching :)